Thursday, January 8, 2009

Government of Sri Lanka Bans LTTE

The Government of Sri lanka has proscribed the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam (LTTE) with effect from 7th January 2009 Midnight.
This was in accordance with a memorandum submitted by President Mahinda Rajapaksa, under Chapter 40 of the Public Security Ordinance.
Some reasons given by the government for the above ban are:
  1. Committing acts of terrorism and other forms of violence.
  2. Engaging in armed conflict with the government forces and police.
  3. Threatening the sovereignity and territorial integrity of the country.
  4. Aim of establishing a seperate state within Sri lanka.
  5. Using civilians as hostage and a human shield.
  6. Using child soldiers.
LTTE is proscribed in 31 countries, including India, USA, UK, Canada, Australia and France.

visit for more details.

No comments: